Cannibale no.1

Through the readings, I was largely struck by the nonsensical nature of the Dada movement, even the name.  From Tristan Tzara’s words in the Dada Manifesto, “I write a manifesto and I want nothing, yet I say certain things, and in principle I am against manifestoes, as I am also against principles,” to the descriptions of the Cut-Up Technique (cut all the words out of an article, shake them up, and the order that you put them bak down on paper will not only create a poem, but will reflect something about yourself), all add up to nonsensical theories.

The periodical, Cannibale, was published in Paris in 1920.  Though I didn’t have time to fully read the whole thing (my French reading brain is much slower than my English one), I thought that what I read seemed to accurately depict what was stated in the Manifesto.  One “poem” in particular stuck out to me, as I could make neither head nor tail of it.

Titled “Suicide,” the poem is just a listing of the alphabet.  I suppose the point of the poem could be that it has no point, in the way that people who feel forced to take their own lives likewise feel that their lives have no point? But beyond that, I have few guesses.

 

Other phrases in the journal stuck out to me as well, such as small collection of sentences (shown below) that begin with the phrase “Dada is a dog” and describe Dada as being “brutal.”  Why?

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 9.23.53 AM.png

http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/cdm/ref/collection/dada/id/24847

 

 

Leave a Reply

